Claim: Colleges and Universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students - like people in general - prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Is it reasonable for colleges and universities to specify a fixed curriculum and eliminate elective courses because it's easy for students to follow a preset path rather than making their own decisions? In my opinion, it's the primary responsibility of educational institutions to help their students become well-rounded individuals and to guide them to choose a suitable career path according to their interests. I will highlight various scenarios indicating the significance of elective courses in the process of learning, especially for higher studies.

The first perspective to be taken into account is elective courses outside one's field of study. One cannot deny the contribution of such courses in helping students become well-rounded individuals. For instance, consider a student of computer science. Elective courses from a variety of fields such as humanities, sociology, philosophy, arts, and literature can not only help him to gain a better perspective, but also it can invoke a life-long interest in that field. Although introductory, this knowledge will help students to analyze real-world issues or problems with multiple viewpoints.

Secondly, it would be a mistake to narrow our view only to elective courses outside one's major. They are equally important in one's own field of study, mainly to determine the career they want to pursue in that field. Extending our example of computer science students, there are many possible sub-fields to choose from for a professional career. This includes computer networks, network security, machine learning, artificial intelligence, system design, cyber security, and many more. Each one of these courses follows a distinct career path. It's not at all acceptable to fix some of these courses as required and force students to study those. The choice should be given to students to select these core subjects based on their passion and the role or designation they see for themselves in the future.

One may argue that it is not viable to allow students to choose from elective courses because - (1) Elective courses outside one's field of study are not required for getting a job, and (2) Students may choose a core subject from a pool of courses without considering the job prospects or their interests, simply in the spur of the moment, and may lose interest once they actually dive deep into the subject. To solve the first problem, elective courses not related to one's major should be without credits so that the students who are truly interested in the subjects will pursue such courses, and it won't have any deleterious effect on the grades of the core subjects. The second problem can be solved simply by providing a comprehensive walkthrough of the curriculum of elective courses, possibly some demo lectures on these subjects (recorded or otherwise). This will help students to be sure of their decision for a particular course.

In conclusion, a flexible approach allowing students to choose the courses they want to study is feasible unless colleges and universities implement above mentioned or similar policies. Imposing a fixed curriculum to study will undermine the very purpose of higher studies, which is to help students choose their field of interest in their major, and be skilled at it.