If a goal is worthy, then any means to attain it are justifiable.

A goal is set by an individual or a society to obtain a certain desirable state. It is the goal that provides the motivation to the people to do better. The statement contends that one can follow any means possible to achieve the goal as long as the final outcome is worthy of doing so. Admittedly, having a goal and a passion to achieve the same is vital to personal growth. But I disagree with the statement as there are a number of cases in which adopting any means to achieve a certain goal may lead to degradation of one's moral values.

For instance, a crime committed for personal gains is not at all justifiable even though the results are good enough. Is killing a person justifiable to gain monetary gains with his/her property? Not only is this evil and against the law, but also it has irreversible effects on a person's moral values and ethics. Another example to understand this can be using nukes (nuclear weapons) in a war to simply win the war. Given the level of destruction that such weapons can cause, following this path is surely not acceptable.

The statement does not hold true for most of the situations where a person's integrity is in question. A former employee of an organization revealing business secrets or any confidential information for his own profit is inexcusable. Although the ultimate purpose of having a goal is to grow in life, doing so at the cost of moral standards is nothing but inhumane. However, there is nothing wrong with an employee exposing the company's false claims of the benefits of products to its customers. This may have a long lasting impact on the reputation of the company, but it can be justified provided that the reason behind doing so was pure.

Considering the effects of human actions on the environment, following a path with deleterious effects can be valid at times. Take an example of Amazon rainforests. If rainforests are the respiratory system of the earth, the amazon is a full lung. It absorbs approximately 1.5bn tonnes of carbon dioxide a year. This lung is being deteriorated at cancerous rates because of deforestation. Since 2001, its absorption rate has fallen by 1.2% a year. It may seem viable at present to use such an amazing natural resource for industrial growth. However, we may lose a perfect natural sink of CO2 in which can earth's carbon dioxide level will increase exponentially. Therefore, doing so is indefensible by all means considering its long-term effects.

Therefore, one can not deny that pursuing a goal at an expense of moral values, ethics, and our responsibility toward the society and environment is not a rational choice. Ultimately, it can be said that we must consider the repercussions of our actions in our conquest towards our specific goals, no matter how fruitful the final outcomes are.