The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument proposes that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. The reasoning for this recommendation includes a recent study of 300 male and female, Mentian advertising executives. This study is provided as evidence to the claim that there is a close association between the average number of sleep per night required by employees and the success of their firms. Stated in this way, the argument depends on a number of unsubstantiated assumptions that need to be evaluated before accepting the recommendation.

First, the number of employees varies greatly in various industries, as well as organizations within a given industry. The study presented as evidence examined the sleep hours of only 300 males and females which may be adequate to give an overall picture for some organizations, but can be a very small number for multi-national companies. The evidence is required that supports this small number of people under study is good enough. In addition to that, no information is provided on the duration for which the said study examined the sleep patterns of the employees. Is it long enough to come to any conclusion? If not, it seriously undermines the merits of this study.

Second, the argument states that the average number of hours the employees sleep indicates a close relationship between the amount of sleep required and the growth of the firm. It is entirely possible that as much as 50% of the people under study required a number of sleep hours greater than 6, while others were below 6, making an average of 6. If true, this will undermine the recommendation that only the people who require sleep hours less than 6 should be hired.

Third, the article overlooks the varied needs of different industries. In order to prove the generalization that there is an association between the sleep hours of employees and the growth of any firm, the study presented must include equal proportions of people from various organizations from different industries. Not only that but also the group was taken from each organization must be a representative set of that firm as a whole, then only one can draw the conclusion as given in the argument.

In sum, the argument is flawed in absence of the above-mentioned evidence, and therefore

unconvincing. To further bolster the argument the author must provide evidence for all the critical assumptions: (1) a small number of people (300 males and females) is a good representative sample, and the duration of the study, (2) an explanation for the average number of study in the reasoning and strict upper bound in the recommendation, and (3) the given recommendation holds true for any given industry.