Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement contends that the "students' ability to explain and apply the facts that they have learned" should be the basis of assessment rather than the grasp of the facts. Before making any decision on the basis of assessment, it is important to define the goal of education. What is the purpose of education? It is to provide students with skills and knowledge that allow them to contribute toward the development of society, along with the fundamental moral values that one should not forget for his lifetime. Keeping this goal in mind, I agree with the statement's claim for the following reasons.

First, choosing the ability of students to apply their fact-based knowledge to practical problems will be of paramount importance to fight the problem of rote learning. Many countries, especially developing countries like India, have an education system that requires students to memorize the facts and write the same in exams to get good grades. This kind of education not only undermines the main goal of education but also adversely affects students' practical skills later in their careers. Few would disagree that students who pass out from this subjective learning approach tend to face a lot of problems when it comes to applying what they know to real-world problems in university projects, or in the field.

Secondly, it may seem that a good grasp of the facts of the subject will only add to the students' pool of knowledge, but it is not actually the case because of stratospheric expectations of grades from parents, teachers, and educational institutions for college admission. This rat-race of grades has led students to even avoid the learning - by taking shortcuts, crash courses, etc.- just for the sake of good grades in exams. With the rote-learning approach to education, getting high grades is directly proportional to students' memory power. The more facts they can remember, the higher grades they can get. Such high grades have little value if students do not know the practical applications of the facts.

One may argue that, how would educators assess the practical knowledge of their students? The answer is simple, by including more practical tests to assess the students. It is true that completely replacing the theoretical tests is not viable when we consider the importance of knowing the facts in the first place in order to apply them to an actual problem. However, it would help if educators increase the currently negligible number of practical examinations to assess the real field knowledge of students.

In the view of the above, the statement's proposition seems reasonable to choose the students' knowledge of practical applicability of the facts rather than mere memorization of facts. This will help educators correctly assess the abilities of their students while contributing toward the end goal of the education.