"Most cultures encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be excluded."

Over the years, the way of life governing a particular group of people have been passed down from generations to generations with the hope of keeping and strengthening the cultural beliefs. This prompt states that this way of life has allowed the people of a society abandon most of their interests and hence, are afraid to behave distinctly. I mostly agree with this statement for two reasons. However, I do concede that most cultures are flexible enough to allow personal choices to be made by its members.

First of all, to achieve mind-blowing creativities requires freedom in all aspects of life; freedom to think critically and extensively out of the box. This has been made difficult by most rigid cultures that insist on antiquated modes of behavior, thinking and operations. For instance, a fashion specialist who hails from Benin City, a well respected town in Nigeria, would be severely criticized and censured if he takes a move to add some contemporary styles and design to the crown (made of 95% beads) of the Oba of Benin; the culture believes that the beaded crown is what has been helping previous kings to rule the kingdom. Therefore, this specialist wouldn't want the society to imagine him as being awkwardly different and would consequently be scared of being labelled as a black sheep.

Additionally, most cultures ascribe different behaviors or responsibilities to males and females preventing one gender from doing what has been attributed to the other gender. For example, in the African culture, only males are encouraged to indulge in activities like farming, hunting, sports, even leadership roles because a male is believed to be the breadwinner of the family and also stronger that the females. Thus, any attempt of the female gender to get involved in those activities is seen as an anomaly - even if the female has the ability, passion or skill necessary to carry out the tasks.

On a contrary, most cultures give opportunities to choose based on interest. This is the case of religion in the western part of Nigeria. The people have three choices: Christianity, Islamic and Traditional beliefs. The availability of these choices do not allow individuals abandon their personalities or interests to be like others, neither does it instill in them the fear of being excluded from the society.

In conclusion, most cultures have successfully limited its citizens to becoming a generally accepted kind of personalities, thus, creating in them, the fear of been exceptional.