The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the years, research have recorded that the progress of a nation is seen in the happiness and well-being of its citizens. This prompt states that the general well-being of people is the surest indicator of a great nation and not its leader’s achievements. I mostly agree with this suggestion for two reasons which I will elucidate below, but I do concede that it might be sometimes hard to please people of a particular nation.

To begin with, the well-being of people should be the highest priority of a leader because citizens are like the heartbeat of the country that when it stops functioning, every other thing becomes inactive (dead). For instance, a country being led by an altruist leader who cares more about the well-fare of its members will definitely promote unity, tranquility, and cooperation among its followers. Also, this will attract inter-national relationship and businesses because everyone likes to be in a place where there is harmony. Countries will be very confident to establish businesses in such a nation and there will be a strong opposition against intruders who aims are for destruction because “united a nation stand, divided the fall”.

Furthermore, the altitude of a leader towards its citizens tells a lot about the nation in which he rules and also, determines who respect its citizens wherever they go because “if the head is bad, the body is automatically bad” and vice versa. For instance, a leader who runs to nations for medical treatment without establishing standard medical centers in his own country has created a bad name for the nation because foreigners will look down on the ruler citizens thereby resulting in hatred and discrimination. There is for a leader to hold its followers on high esteem so as to promote the economic and social growth of the nation

On the contrary, pleasing people can be sometimes difficult because of the complexity of human behavior. For example, citizens might begin to take the leaders simplicity and altruism for weakness and stupidity by always demanding personal needs from the ruler thereby making becoming lazy and parasitic.