Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This prompt argues that academic institutions should demand students to take vast courses outside their selected field of study. I mostly agree with this assertion for two reasons which is listed below, but, I do concede that making this policy a criteria for students to fulfill while in the institution might distract them from their principal courses and even extend their graduation year.

To begin, institutions should ensure each student’s to take courses outside their chosen field of study because this will make them competitive in the job market. For example, a Chemistry student who enrolled for communication in English Language would develop strong interpersonal skills which will make him or her to be very proficient with the use of English and also communicate effectively with friends, colleagues, family etc. Also, a Yoruba student who offered courses in the sciences e.g Mathematics develops his or her technical skills. In today’s world, those who are competitive in the workforce tend to those who have acquired variety of skills and expertise. Students who are insular to only courses in their field are actually less competitive.

Additionally, students who have taken a lot of courses in the institution are more likely to do well if given a specific project to perform that is related to the elective “Extra” courses that they took because they are academically prepared for puzzles in that area. For instance, a Chemical Engineering student who took courses from the department of political sciences when given a campaign contract, he or she is likely to organize people to rally on behalf of a senatorial or presidential candidate and then win the campaign. This example clearly shows that one need to have broad skills in order to be very efficient in diverse areas.

On the contrary, student taking too many courses can eventually lead to apathy and this will in turn lead to carryovers and then, the extension of their graduation year will become a certainty.

In conclusion, institutions setting policy for students to enroll in several courses will make them outstanding and prepare them for what the labor market holds for them.