Universities should require every students to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

To learn more, is to know more. Knowledge learnt be it intentionally or unintentionally will sure be useful at one certain point in life. This prompt recommend that academic institutions should demand each student to offer different courses outside the students field of interest. I mostly agree with this policy for two reasons which I will elucidate below, but I do concede that this recommendation has it own flaws especially in delaying the graduation years of students.

To begin, a student at the institution should be required to take variety of courses because this will develop his or her skills. For instance, a stem student who is demanded to enrol in debate and speech classes will learn valuable communication and negotiation skills. In addition, a literature students who enrolls in physics classes will learn technical skills to understand certain phenomenon and likely to write a successful fiction book. If students circumscribe themselves to only courses in their field of study, the students might not be competitive in the job market. Competitive students are those who possess diverse skills that enable them to solve puzzles and breakthrough in the workforce.

Furthermore, a student who offers diverse courses outside his or her selected field of study tends to acquire more broad critical and problem solving skills because he or she will be able to solve personal problems. For instance, a student who studied Chemistry and while at the institution, also took classes in the Economics department, will be able to bid down prices in the market without being overcharged or cheated since he or she possess the skills to buy goods at a cheaper rate thereby, enabling him or her to even obtain more goods in the market that was never budgeted for "using one stone to kill two birds".

On the contrary, a student who only take courses in his or her chosen field of study is most likely perform well because he or she will not be distracted with diverse courses. For instance, a student in the Mathematical sciences who offers 15 credit unit courses will definitely be able to focus and pass them compared to students who offers up to 24 credit unit courses because there will be enough time for the student with few number of courses to attend tutorials on each one, read almost all of the courses daily once back from lectures, and do excel in all which will definitely enable him or her graduate at the due time.

In conclusion, a student should be encouraged to take diverse of courses so enhance the his or her learning ability and to prepare him or her for the raining day (a day where he or her have to prove great skills that will enable him or her standout among multitudes and be qualified for a competitive position).