The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the business manager assumes that broadcasting more of weather and local news will enhance an increased amount of viewers to their news program and prevent additional loss of advertising revenue. He comes to this conclusion based on the complaint received from higher portion of the viewers and the advertisement contracts that the local businesses have terminated with the television station. However, the assertion from the author might prove true, but as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that hamper its credibility.

To begin with, the author assumes that majority of the complaint received about increased time devoted to national news instead of weather and local news are from the viewers, but this might not be the case. For instance, it might be that there haven’t be light for almost a year and the number of people who actually burn fuels on news are little compared to the people who can’t afford buying fuel. So, how do these larger numbers of people watch news let alone, begin to complain? These complaints might have risen from the little number of people opportune to view daily-night news. In addition, the complaint might have even being from people who do not watch news but heard about it from their friends who frequently watch news and begin to spread the information and pretending as if they were the ones that actually viewed the news. If the above examples are true, then the author’s assumption is not valid.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the local businesses that previously advertise during late-night news ended their contract with the television station as a result of increased amount of time spent on broadcasting news about the nation instead of weather and local news. However, this might not be the case. For instance, the local businesses might have come up with new policy to stop advertising during the late night news due to the cost of paying on every advertisement done and maybe, profit business does not flourish again as it use to. In additional, the television station might not be offering the local businesses good services for example, lack of incomplete advisement of the business product or even network problem frequenting occurring and preventing the viewers from the complete information that they ought to have gotten from the advisement. If either of the scenarios proves true, then the author’s contention is considerably hindered.

Finally, the author is assuming the past year to be like the current year, but this might not be the case. Perhaps, there were serious problems going on in the nation that all citizens needed to be aware of. For example, the president might have been kidnapped that year and even killed by terrorists in the nation. Also, attack and bomb explosion from an enemy country might have been the order of the day which has resulted in the television station focusing more on national news than the weather and local news. Besides, it might be that both the weather condition and activities going on locally were favorable that previous years and was not a major concern as at that moment. If these scenarios stated above are true, then the author’s assumption does not hold water.

In conclusion, the complaint from majority of the viewers, and local businesses ending their advertising contracts with the television station due to less attention paid to weather and local news might not be true. However, the author needs to consider the above explanations if he hopes to bolster its persuasiveness as to why there is a decline in the number of viewers to the news program and loss of advertising revenue due to local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts.