A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

I mostly disagree with this recommendation for two reasons which I will elucidate below, but I do concede that the policy will enable students glean knowledge in areas that they might never have had opportunity to.

To begin with, a nation should not obligate its students to study the same national syllabus until admission into college because this will not give students the enthusiasm and solid foundation required to withstand challenges in their desired field of study that they might encounter in the institution. For instance, a student who is passionate about becoming a medical doctor and graduating with distinction but have no basic knowledge about health and hygiene will sure become perplex and looking like a stranger once he or she is been introduce to similar but advanced topics at the higher level. In addition, he or she might begin to struggle just to pass with “Grade D” and eventually end up with carryover(s) that might lead to academic imbalance and poor academic performance upon graduation. Thus, there is need to allow students at the lower level study different curriculums particularly syllabus that will prepare them for their profession.

Furthermore, the ability for students to discover their talents and potentials on time will be hampered because they will be in a state of confusion as regards the career path to follow. For instance, a student might decide to study Yoruba or fine art as a profession in college since he or she was taught this at the lower level. They will have no choice than to appreciate what they have learnt and even feel that is the best course of study for them. The way they will think and act will be circumscribe due to the lack of exposure to other syllabus.

On the contrary, studying the same national curriculum will enable students glean equal amount of knowledge and skills, and make them highly competitive as no one will be referred to as “better than the other”. In all, while a nation might consider this recommendation as the best for its students, it thus has it own flaws.