The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the years, societies have followed a particular culture, norms, and tradition that govern them that if misrepresented outside to the public, can forever tarnish the society beliefs. This prompt states that the most essential way to fathom modern culture is by elucidating the trends of its youth. I mostly agree with this suggestion for two reasons which I will elucidate below, but I do concede that the policy is without its own flaw particularly in failing to understand that some youth might have decided to be a “a black sheep” of the culture which have been laid down for them to practice and follow.

To begin with, the action of a youth, tells a lot about where he or she is coming from because it is believed that he or she follows a particular norm that governs and influences the behavior of its members. For instance, a lady who appears irresponsible in dressing like wearing skimpy dress to church or a guy who places earring in his ear with his body covered with tattoo is a enough reason to analyze where they are coming from and the culture being practiced.

Furthermore, the way of life and success of a youth speaks a whole lot about where he or she is coming from and the desire of members of its society to success. For example, in Nigeria, where the Igbo culture belongs to one of the ethnic group in the country, Igbo youths are recognized to be industrious. As early as 5am, they have started shedding their businesses and work from Mondays to Sundays. They are seen all over the country establishing big plazas and businesses such as electronic, building materials, motor parts etc. Looking at the efforts in which the youths make, one can tell that they have been groomed by their culture never to be lazy and always be independent.

Admittedly, it might be difficult sometimes to understand the modern culture of a particular society through the trends of its youth because the youth might be indecorous and a black sheep of the society who have decided to give his or her society a bad name through daily actions carried out. For instance, a youth who travelled abroad and was caught dealing with drugs and finally deported back to his home town with his case currently considered as “Mental case” due to the hard drugs he took and the emotional trauma he is currently facing, might begin to chase after young girls in his kindred and beyond and even go to the extent of rapping them which is a big slap and stigma to the culture of the society where he hails from. This example above shows that it might be wrong sometimes to judge a culture based on just the picture its present to the public.

In conclusion, understanding a particular culture works well with the trends of the youth because they represent an integral part of the society and are believed to be the best representative of their culture.