The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that in the next couple of months, sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to augment dramatically. He comes to this conclusion based on the survey carried out that suggested that the decline in sales trend is about to take a new turn. While this assertion from the author might prove true, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumption that hampers its credibility.

To begin, the author assumes that people between ages ten to twenty-five are most likely to play videos games. However, this may not be true. For instance, there might be a sudden breakthrough in job employment that will require people in the age bracket stated above particularly people in their early twenties, to relocate to another environment due to new jobs gotten. Perhaps, these youths might have just been passing time on games due to lack of availability of work. Moreover, changes might occur that every child around ten years are required to study hard in order to be granted a scholarship. This policy will definitely change their mindset about game. If either of the explanation above proves true, then the author’s claims is not overly compelling.

Further, the author assumes that all the people who were surveyed actually have the same shared interest as regards video games but, this might not be true. For instance, it might be that people who have passion for video games that were actually surveyed are just three out of thirty people due to inefficient survey carried out maybe because of limited survey materials or the surveyors were unlucky not to have met people who are actually thrilled by the games, at home at the time of the survey. In addition, even if all the people surveyed showed interest in game, that does not mean that all of them will actually watch it may be due to financial circumstance. If either scenario above proves true, then the author’s contention is considerably hindered.

Finally, the author assumes that all the people surveyed are actually video game lovers. However, this might not be true. The survey might have been conducted for market women who might not know anything about the games other than their business and the zeal to earn income to cater for their families. Also, people might have pretended and decided to take the survey due to influences around them that moment because they want to feel “among” that moment and after the survey, they return back to who they actually are. If the above scenario proves true, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, increase in Whirlwind video games might be true. However, the author needs to consider the above explanation if he hopes to bolster its persuasiveness. The author should provide warranted claims as to why he believes that there will be an augment in Whirlwind games in the next few months.