Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Leadership is not about the position one occupies or the level he or she has attain rather, it is the capability or ability to influence a group of people been led in order to attain their desired goals. An effective leader must possess a standard principles and norms that guide him in leading his people rightly. Some people argues that the ability for a leader to remain focused and committed to a specific norms while leading others describe him as an “Effective leader” while others gainsay that an “Effective leader” must succumb to general opinion and leave behind principles just to please its followers. I mostly agree with the suggestion that an effective leader must be able to have a certain principles and objectives guiding him, but I do concede that yielding to public opinions would surely create an atmosphere for equity.

To begin with, an effective leader should not be led by its followers rather; he should lead his members by following a standard norm that will guide them in attaining their desired goals. For instance, when a leader pays attention to the public, there will be division since everyone has their own opinion to give and this will in turn lead to chaos when the leader his unable to please each of its members. In addition, the head will lose his cap since he has no say and will not be respected by his members. A society where there is no law, there is definitely no offence and the public are not to be blamed.

Further, following a particular principle help a particular group of people to behave and act rightly, and to be responsible in the society because how one present his or her self in public tells a lot about the background where the person is comes from. For instance, a man who pregnant a woman without paying her pride prize will be forced to marry her and that will serve as a great lesson to other man. In addition, people will tend to be responsible and that will promote a good name for the head and its members as well.

On the contrary, a leader allowing its members to detect for him on how to lead them will bring about flexibility and create no room for judgment since there will be total freedom of speech and expression without fear being persecuted. For instance, ladies would be able to wear bra and pant to the church without being reprimand. In addition, a Yoruba man would be very comfortable to marry an Igbo lady without being criticized.

In conclusion, there is need for a leader to set a solid foundation when leader its members so as to promote respect, orderliness, and cooperation.