The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava."The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

In the argument, the authors concludes that there will soon be a drastic fall of the number of students enrolled in public schools. He comes to this conclusion based on his assumption that birthrate declines yearly. While the assertion from the author might prove true, as it stands now, the arguments relies on three unwarranted assumptions that hamper it's credibility.

To begin with, the author assumes that birthrate decline will continue to persist each year, but this might not be the case. Perhaps, many families might have done family planning on the number of children that they want to have maybe due to financial difficulties which initially led to a decline in birthrate. But since change is what is constant, families might decide to start having large number of children as a result of financial breakthrough or the fact that they lost one or more of their children to death. In addition, people who have been looking for the fruit of the womb might receive the God's divine intervention and begin to give birth to twins, triplets, quadruple etc. If either scenario proves true, then the author argument about the continous decline in brithrate does not hold water.

Further more, the author assumes that the facilities and programs that will be funded for will only be used by adults since they will continue to increase. However, this might not be the case. For instance, several adults might decides to relocate to other places due to good jobs gotten or due to a job transfer or because they have newly gotten married and want to change environment. Moreover, hight death rate might be recorded among adults due to criminal act because of the burning desire to make wealth very quickly or prostitution resulting in deadly diseases and death. If these scenario above proves true, then the author's contention is considerably hindered.

Finally, the author is assuming five years ago to be the same as last year. Maybe, this assumption might not be true. Perhaps, there were large number of people who immigrated to the city of Calatrava thus resulting in high birth rate. These immigrants might have relocated to other places due to favourable weather condition, good job employment, or social amenities. Also, there might have been bad governance five years ago that allows the influential ones to ride upon the less privileged. Rape might have been rampared that resulted in the hight birth rate compared to last year.

In conclusion, the decline in birthrate might be true. However, the author needs to consider the above explanations if he hopes to bolster its persuasiveness. The author should provide evidence as to why he claims that birthrate will continue to decline in years to come.