"Most cultures encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be exclude.

Culture is the image of music, arts, traditions and rituals of a society. The author claims 2 points. First one is, most cultures influence individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personality for being like other people. Second one is the most people are afraid to think out of the box because they don’t want to be ostracized. I agree with the later claim. But I take exception with the former one.

Every person is surrounded by the culture of the society he/she lives in. Every culture of a country/society introduces its people with the social behavior, customs, rituals, arts the country/society possesses. There might be a good chance of people being influenced by the culture of their society. But, in this 21st century’s democratic world, there number of fascist countries that influences individuals to sacrifice their own individuality is very limited. Every democratic country provides its citizen the liberty to share their thought and shape their personalities. Therefore, every individual has an independent choice to shape up his personality in a democratic country. Let’s shed more light to it by giving an example of a democratic country: Bangladesh. This country has a rich and diverse culture in music, art, rituals and customs. And according to the constitution of Bangladesh, every person is independent to make and shape up their choices.

By nature every human being prefer living within a society than being excluded. Therefore, in spite of holding individual liberty, most people actually stay constrained within the four walls of the culture they are surrounded by. Because, most people are afraid that they might get ostracized if they shape their individualities and opinions differently than the accepted standards.

But still, there are very few outliers who dare taking stand to shape up their own thinking and personality the way they want. But this number is very limited and exceptional. And “Exception can’t be an example”.

In summary, Culture doesn’t force to limit the perception of the idea, individuality a person holds. Individuals who are afraid to behave differently encourage themselves to do so at their own peril.