"Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are

entirely harmless, they in fact, prevent people from developing into truly strong and

independent individuals."

Luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are sometimes choices of human beings to possess in life. The prompt states that luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life preclude people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. I partially disgree with the idea for 3 reasons.

Conveniences and luxuries in contemporary life in are materialistic things that every human being crave for in this contemporary world. Every human being in his/her life wants to lead a convenient and sometimes luxurious life. But everything needs balance and limit. Someone once said, “Genius is about knowing when to stop”. As a human being we should behave intellectually and lead a belanced life that’s not harmful for ourselves and others and also for the environment.Let’s give the example of using more featured luxurious smartphones.For some people,luxurious smartphones are not luxury but necessity. In some cases, having a luxurious smartphone that has more features make life more convenient because with a smartphone and internet service in your hand you san simply complete any task you want.Do you want to book a ticket to fly to USA? You can do it with a smartphone and internet service. More or less, any task is possible with a good featured smartphone and internet service. All of these gives productive result if you know how to use conveniences and luxurious productively.

On the other hand, suppose, teenagers, who thinks possessing a luxurious smartphone is cool and use a smartphone, simply far away from being a strong and independent individual. And in most cases teenagers uses smartphones for surfing over social media and spend a lot of time on social media unproductively.But teenagers or any individual,instead of spending the most of the time of their day on social media unproductively and futively can read articels,news,do reaserch with the help of the internet and smartphones.

Secondly,Providing people conveniences and luxurious, in one way,creates job sectors for people who are skilled in those specific sectors. Creating smartphones, attaching new features to them requires skilled engenieers.This gives good job opportunity for a lot of people and good technological base along with economical surplus to a country.That’s what conveniences and luxurious do on the opposite side of the coin.

In the final analysis, being a strong and independent individual is mostly related to mindset and how one likes to grow as human being.Leading a convenient and luxurious life has nothing to do with with the emergence and growth of strength and independence in the life of a human being.