“There are two types of laws: just and unjust. Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and, even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust laws."

Laws are constituted in order to run a country within proper specified codes. The prompt states laws are of two categories: just laws and unjust laws. And every individual is responsible to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws. I strongly disagree with the first prompt and agree with the second prompt for 2 reasons.

Firstly, laws can’t be categorized into just and unjust laws. Perception and acceptance towards laws vary from person to person .One law that is considered as just laws and accepted by one person might not be accepted by another person. For instance, abortion, that’s accepted by a group of people who have strong religious views might not be accepted by another group of people. Recently, Alabama, a state of USA, has banned abortion. The government of the country has witnessed a group of people protesting against abortion and another group of people supporting the law all together. Similarly, the world has been witnessing this sort of incidents regarding law acceptance since the beginning of civilization.

Secondly, every person is different opinion, thinking than another person in a society. And every individual has freedom to express his opinion towards laws. For instance, in in a conservative society like Yemen, women aren’t allowed to leave home without her husband’s permission. While, rationally, Law like this in the view of human rights is totally unjust, the women and citizens of Yemen obey the laws.

But, if an improper law against wellbeing and human rights of the citizens of a society/country is enacted individuals should protest to keep majority’s wellbeing intact.

In the final analysis, Laws should be obeyed that serve basic human rights and wellbeing and should be protested against if the human rights are violated and wellbeing is ruined.