"Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts

that help explain those facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned very little."

The author claims that students who study ideas, trends and concept related to facts have better memorization of those facts than those who study only facts. I mostly agree with the idea.

Firstly, Facts are better learned if studied with background concepts, ideas and trends that explains the facts thoroughly. This help students memorize facts as they learn those facts practically. The more a student studies cases, concepts, trends related to the facts, the more facts get clear him. Studying concepts, ideas, trends intertwined with the fact help a student get to know more about a fact than the student who merely learn the facts. Our brain has a tendency to memorize things we study in details in the long term and more clearly. For example, a student studying economic models such as Philips curve would memorize the facts of that model more clearly if he studies the history, application, concepts of that model than the student who only learn the definition of that model. A student who is determined to study facts only knows and learns a little and forgets the facts easily.

But, facts related to theoretical subjects like English literature, History, Religion requires no prior concept, idea study to memorize. Theoretical facts can be learned through repetitive study. Studying concepts, ideas and trends in case of theoretical subjects can be undoubtedly of slight help but time consuming in some cases. On the other hand, science subjects can little be learned if studied facts only. For example, a student who is studying botany will only memorize the fact that that trees have life only if through a practical examination. In that case, studying ideas, concepts and trends along with practical examination and application would help the student memorize the fact for a life time.

In final analysis, despite the fact that some subjects require practical examination and application of facts to memorize better, in the first place concepts, ideas and trends are better way to get acquainted with the facts first and even memorize better for every subjects.