Scientists and researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

"Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated."

The author has two concern in his claim above. first is, ensuring financial support in major cities in order to develop. The second one is, To be developed as a nation, developing cultural sectors must be the primary concern of a Gov. I disagree with the authors claims.

Firstly, cultural traditions is not admittedly, one of the primary sectors that ensures the livelihood, security, education of the citizen of a nation. Let’s talk about a whole nation first. A nation’s development depends mostly on economic and educational progress in the first hand. Without strong economic base no govt can maintain national affairs let alone international ones. A nation to thrive the basic needs of citizen such as home, adequate food,treatment,education first have to be fulfilled in every cities of a country as a nation’s development depends on the betterment of every cities country.

Secondly, development of a country depends on the development of both large and small cities. It should be completely out of concern that whether the large cities are met with financial support or not. Each city should be supported adequately in order to thrive.

The third point is, The cultural tradions,traditional arts,musics are evolved mostly in rural areas of a country.Lets give an example of Bangladeshi cultural traditions. Old folk songs, one of the finest assests of cultural traditons of this country,were created by bauls,dervishes of rural areas.Its totally irrational of the author to say that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated in cities.

Finally, To make a country culturally enriched private organizations should work. The cultural traditions should be matter of concern of private organizations .