"Most people would agree that buildings represent a valuable record of any society's past, but

controversy arises when old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be

better used for modern purposes. In such situations, modern development should be given

precedence over the preservation of historic buildings so that contemporary needs can be

served."

Infrastructural objects such as buildings, bridge and statues work as most effective ways to represent histories and pasts symbolically. The author claims that, despite the fact that buildings represent valuable records, to meet up contemporary needs historic buildings should be replaced by modern development. I think the author overgeneralized the topic. In my opinion, the decision of the dominance of modern development over archaic establishments should be varied from case to case and I mostly disagree with the author’s statement.

History plays many important roles. It teaches us valuable life lessons through incidents .And monument such as buildings play crucial role in that case. However not every archaic buildings reflects the past of a society. Ancient buildings may reflect the past structural aesthetic beauty of the establishments of society but don’t necessarily symbolize any historical incident and movement. In that case, the modern development and necessity should replace the ancient infrastructure as necessity changes the door of opportunity gets bigger with the passage of time. For example, a building built 100 years ago only to serve artistic and aesthetic beauty, today can be replaced to fulfill more practical purposes such as a renovating or building a science lab.

Contrastingly, buildings with valuable historical pasts shouldn’t be replaced with modern development. In the fast growing world, though modern development are needed for the human race to evolve into more advanced species and make this world technologically, economically a better place to live in, Histories are also equally important to keep us connected with our roots, remind us of our ancestors, our pasts and from where we began . Ancient museums might be a good relevant example to be given. Ancient museums are the reflection of the forgone priceless times and incidents. Therefore, in this case ancient buildings that contain immeasurable and irreplaceable historical values can’t be buried down to ground for the purpose of meeting modern development and newly arisen needs.

In summary, When question arises whether to replace old buildings to fulfill modern necessity or development the decision will be taken considering the artistic historical values of those old establishment and the value of the modern necessity both.