"Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that

help explain those facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned very little."

The statement mentioned students cannot learn by just memorizing by cramming is agreeable. When there is a lot to be learnt especially for exams cramming is not the solution. One cannot possibly remember all the information just by cramming . Learning anything requires a deep analysis of the particular subject and analyzing its insights. This is the reason why education systems focus so much on learning the concepts rather than just memorizing .

Moreover, one will not be able to apply those information in real life .If we will not be able to apply those information then the time spent on it will get wasted. If one does not learn the laws of physics and simply memorizes it , then they will not be able to remember it . One such instance like a survey conducted in 2019 on graduating students of 12th grade proves it .This survey asks 1000 students to explain at least two 2 laws of thermodynamics .The results in which 800 out of 1000 students do not remember these laws proves that just by cramming, one will not be able to retain the concepts .

Apart from just remembering the facts it is also important that how we apply those concepts which cannot be achieved just by cramming it. If a student at kindergarten level is taught to memorize words and spellings without understanding the alphabet's phonetic sounds ,then will he be able to pronounce and spell complex and difficult words? Students who succeed in spelling bee championships prove how deep they have understood the phonetics of the alphabets and how they can be applied to spell difficult and unknown words .

Therefore ,we can agree that one cannot just memorize facts or information. One should definitely learn the facts after looking it into its insights and understanding all the concepts related to it,this not only helps us to remember it for a long time but also helps us to apply it in different real world applications .Only the one who understands the concepts related to the information cam claim himself to have learned the concept .