There are two types of laws just and unjust Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and even more importantly to disobey and resist unjust laws

Laws are made to prevent chaos and provide justice. The writer believes that laws that don't provide justice need to be disobeyed and ones that do need to be obeyed. Now while I definitely agree with the latter part, I am a little hesitant to agree with the former part. I obviously do agree that unjust laws have no place in any constitution, when it comes down to protesting against such laws, it is a bit unfair to say that everyone should rise up against it.

No one wants unjust laws, unless they are benefiting from it. In governments where we see the presence of unjust laws, it is because someone somewhere is benefiting from it. Chances are that this person or these people who benefit from such a law are rich and powerful. These people are above the law. And the unjust law or laws in place are bringing them more money and more power. If the laws are suddenly not as lucrative as before, things will change. This is essentially the only way that these laws are going to go under a reform.

Protesting can certainly be helpful. But it is going to take time. This is why it is unfair to expect everyone to immediately disobey an unjust law. Fair or not, these laws are laws. Disobeying them will result in punishment for the delinquent. Therefore, though people are not exactly happy about the existence of said law, they are not going to protest it alone. As I said it requires time to figure out who is going to stand beside you and fight.

Another issue we run into here, is that governments who impose these unfair laws, are not going to kindly change the laws as soon as they see the first protest. The people that are benefiting from the unjust law are likely paying a staggering amount of money to the government. Even democratic governments are not always interested in their people's interests. What can we expect from a tyrannical one? And so begins the tear gasses and batons and other, much more brutal, methods of silencing people.

The uproar is usually going to arrive in waves. The people who are fed up with their undemocratic government are going to rise up and come to the streets, forming the first wave. Once they receive their beating from the riot police, they are going to run back to their houses, hoping they don't get arrested or injured. After a while the second wave will start. This is where the real tragedy occurs. People are now much more scared than before. The government is much more alert and ready. This time there is going to be many more arrests and injuries.

Don't get me wrong. I am not doubting the power of the people. Many tyrannical governments have been overthrown or reformed because of people's protests and riots. However, it is naive to even hint that the people of undemocratic countries have not thought about change. If the change is happening, it is because of how difficult the whole process is. Whether we are talking about a simple reform or a revolution, the process is by no means made of easy tasks.

To wrap it up, I do believe that unjust laws should perish. But we do need to realize what a difficult task this is going to be. There are going to be major pushbacks, both from the government and from the people who are either supportive of the government or are too afraid of it to come to the streets.