Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas whereresidents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives We should therefore build oneof our new stores in Plainsville which clearly has many such residents Plainsville

In the memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, It is argued that because of the fact that Plaisville is a place where people are concerned with leading healthy lives and because people in these regions tend to be more interested in buying the products of Nature's Way, then it makes the most sense that the next few stores should be built in Plainsville. The writer claims this by stating that people in Plainsville are buying more health related products than before and are signing up for health related classes. And on top of that, the writer mentions a school program that is supposedly going to turn the children of Plainsville into Nature's Way's future customers. The argument is built upon numerous flawed assumptions.

To begin the argument, the writer discusses that according to the report of merchants, people of Plainsville are buying more running shoes and exercise clothing than ever before. The writer is assuming a couple of things here. First of all, he is assuming that people who buy these items are going to be pursuing healthy life styles. Just because someone buys a pair of running shoes, it doesn't mean that he/she is going to use them. And secondly, If something is at an all time high, it doesn't mean that it is generally high. The sales of aforementioned products could still be quite low. Therefore, this fact is not quite useful in determining if Plainsville is a good investment.

Now, assuming that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are not only at an all time high, but are relatively high. There is still an issue and it has to do with marketing knowledge. When the demand for something increases, it doesn't necessarily make it a good investment. This rise in demand for the aforementioned products could simply be a wave. Thus if Nature's Way decides to build their next few stores in Plainsville, Bussiness might be good for a little while, but it could very well run into a wall. The writer needs to examine the market for health related products more closely and not be easily persuaded by such numbers.

The writer makes another argument at the end of the memorandum to prove that Plainsville is a good place to invest. The writer claims that because of a school program called 'fitness for life' that children are required to take, the children are going to be Nature's Way's future customers. First of all, what does this program even teach? How does it affect the way those children view a healthy life style? I would argue that because it is a mandatory program, then although it might make a portion of those kids interested in leading a healthy life style, most of them would end up hating it. What is clear is that a much more extensive research needs to be done in order to figure if these kids will end up leading healthy life styles or not.

To conclude, this argument was certainly not a well constructed one since it was built upon many false assumptions.