Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people might suggest that lying occasionally or often in a relationship helps to mitigate some frivolous, not-so-important issues and even sometimes helps settling serious issues in smaller durations. However I think telling the truth is the most important consideration between people that they must undertake in any kind of relationship.

Firstly, relationships depend and thrive on trust. For example, if I am caught lying to my parents quite often then my parents would refrain from believing me at the time when I might actually be speaking the truth. My desultory lies will reduce the trust they have on me and eventually lead them to lose their expectation that I will speak or convey the truth. If trust never depended on honesty we wouldn't have been the human civilization we are today. Trust backed by honesty was one of the driving force for different groups of early hunter gatherer humans to collaborate with each other and form ties with each other. Trust played an important part in the establishment of hunting groups, communities, villages, towns, empires and contemporarily Nations as well.

Secondly, honesty in a relationship encourages people associated with that relationship to be more honest in their contributions to the relationship. It has been seen for example that in a marriage or a couple in relationship that, the honesty of one of the two can encourage the other to adopt honesty as a way of life. Even someone is not neccessarily not honest every time but being under the influence of a relationship with a person who is honest helps change the inveterate tendencies of lying. If this were not the case then relationships around the world would have been unbalanced and people would fall out of wedlocks faster than they formed. If honesty didn't induce honesty then dishonesty would've for sure overpowered and induced dishonesty and again we wouldn't have been where we are today.

Thirdly, telling the truth in a relationship is a underlying glue that holds any kind of relationship intact. Walking away from the truth or dissembling it is a betrayal to the other person in that relationship. A relationship based on lies is as fragile and infirm as it can get. for example, it has been seen in studies conducted on couples around the world that almost a majority of the divorce cases that were filled by the couples were due to partners lying their way into the relationship or lying while in a relationship on a daily basis, and very few were due to other issues like compatibility issues. Had this not been the case the majority of the cases of divorce would have some other reasons when studied. Infidelity is one of the leading cases of divorces in contemporary world. Thus telling the truth should be of utmost importance in any relationship.

Lastly, telling the truth is a also a service to self and ethics of humanity. One who tells the truth in any relationship, respects and upholds the sanctity of the human bond and the underlying ethics that are silent but conspicuous at the same time. Results from studies can be cited as an example that majority of people in various studies have been found to have a more peaceful and happy life if they have been in an honest relationship and have always preffered sticking to the truth. It has been also established that there are physioc-chemical reactions our body exhibits when we speak truth providing a sense of calm and reassurance to our selves and bolstering our trust on self as a human being.

In sum, telling the truth must be the most important consideration in any relationship, to induce honesty, uphold moral and ethical values in a relationship, strengthening human bonds, and also achieving peace and trust on one's self.