People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor’s prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known, unwanted side effect: Coldex is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and Cold-Away is known to cause drowsiness. But the choice should be clear for most health-conscious people: Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is Coldex. Clearly, Cold-Away is more effective.

The argument states that as the Cold away is being used much longer than Coldex that is fair enough to the patients to trust in this medication rather than the other. However, this argument is rife with several holes. First, it is not necessairly because Cold away medication is been used more longer that the other medication, that guarantees that it is more safe. Second, the author doesn’t metione how many people who complain about the side effect of each? Thus, the author should answer the following questions to make his argument more convincing

To begin, the author cited that each medicine has a side effect, Colaway causes drawsiness. However, Coldex causes high blood pressure. The author relied on his conclusion on the period that Colaway has been used; but he overlooked that the long time in using medication not the only factor which indicate the medicine safety. For example, if the Cold away cause liver problems or cuases fat accumulation on the patients’ liver this will not appear as soon as the patient take the medicine. Drawsiness that resulted from Cold away medicine could be from such liver problems which is significant. Besides, the author doesn’t clearly metioned how long each have being used? This comparison is important to display whether the difference in the using period is significant ot not? As it could be just a short time differ from one to anothor which is not the factor that will give us a big picture of their saftey as the author said. Therefore, if the above is correct that means the author doesn’t suceed to persuade the reader by his argument.

Secondly, if we believe in that Cold away medicine is more safe, the author should provide is with more information about how many people are complaining about each medicin? The number of people who complained is improtant to idntify whether it is remarkable or not. Moreover, where is the data which indicate the correlation bbetween each medicine and its side effect. Coldex as mentioned well known that is cause high blood pressure, the author should mention this medicine from whom? Which age is using this medication. As is well known that the people who is 50 or above is more prone to high blood pressure complians which is not related to the medicine at all. If the above scenario is valid, that means the conclusion drawn in the original argument is remarkably flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands above is significantly flawed. The author reliance on unwarranted assumption and incomplete information make his argument doesn’t hold water. The author should provide answers to the mentioned questions to make this argument more persuasive or at least make it feasible to be evaluated.