A folk remedy for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. During the second week, the volunteers discontinued their medication. As a result, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. This shows that over a short period of time lavender cures insomnia.

The argument explains about the people who slept in a pillow with lavender scent cured from insomnia. The author relies on a short experiment that has been done for three weeks, which shows the volunteers were have a sleep discomfort,but as time passed, they had a good sleep. The author correlate the results of a good sleep in favor of the lavander scent. This argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, as there are several queations and missing information the author should firstly answer them.

First, as the argument mentioned that people were suffer from isomnia and after using the scent of the lavander in their pillows; they could sleep well. The author overlooked to cite how was their sleep before and how many hours they used to sleep per day?

There are many factors could be the reason for their sleepl goodness, and the author should expalin all the experimental conditions. For example, during the experiment, how was the envirnoment in the room it is dark or has a light? Propably the patient used to sleep in a dark and during the first two weeks they were sleep in a light lamp, but in the last week they slept in a dark. Moreover, when they slept? Which time in a day? is it during noon or afternoon or evening? All these factors don’t metion in the argument, which definitly affect the quality of sleep. Thus, within the missed information and missed all the exprimental conditions, the argument as it showed is significantly weakened.

Further, there is a crucial factor could be the reason for the good sleep in the third days, which is the circadian rhythm. People in usual accutomed to sleep in regural pattern which causes the quality of their comfort during the sleep. For example, if someone used to sleep in 6 pm every day, during this time the melatonin ( sleep hormon ) releases and helps the indivdual to sleep good. However, if this time changed and became sleep at 10 pm, the sleep hormon will not be there to make the quality of the one’s sleep. Thus, cast doubt in the results and the conclusio of the experiment, as they maybe in the first two weeks were trying to get familiar with the new time of sleep and their circadian rhythm doesn’t get in the regular pattern as usual. Therefore, the result of a longer sleep in the thrid week perhaps because of the volunteers’circadian rhythm became more well established during the new time of sleep. All the previous scenarios if are valid, they make this argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands above is considerably flawed. As the author depends on unwarranted assumptions. The author of this argument don’t mention crucial information about the experiment that has been done to illustarte whether the results correlate to the lavander’s scent or there are confounder factors which maybe the reason for the results.