To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Undoubtedly, if one wants to know about any society’s culture should look at its cities. The prompt says that the major cities are the place where one can find out more about society. However, I strongly disagree, because always these big cities do not show the real life of those societies. There are more than reasons to not look at big cities if you want to know more about any community.

Firstly, major cities in most countries full of diversities to be able to attract tourists from around the world. Thus, it does not show the fact of society itself. For example, in Las Vegas in USA, this city has plenty of hotels where are Gambling Holes and Brothels. As well as, it is considered one of the most cities which has a high rate of crimes, suicide, alcohol consumption, and illicit use of drugs. Of course, these places do not reflect the real-life of Americans. Quite the opposite, if one goes to any small city such as Virginia; Virginia is a little historic nugget where are many places which talk about history for the city itself and the whole continent. Virginia is famous for Comstock Lode; it is a booming establishment for several decades in the mid-1800s. Besides, this small city is full of arts and cultures which gravitate tourists since 150 years ago to visit the museums scattered throughout the area. Therefore, the small cities the best places can help one to identify the culture and the reality of the societies.

Further, small cities provide a picture of society’s industries. For example, in Eygpt, if one needs to see what kind of industry is in the country; he should go to small cities where the agricultures and handcrafts can be found. Small cities like Monufya or Sharkya in Eygpt are famous for grains’manufactories where most people of these cities work in farms. Thus, one can find out about the kind of industries and the nature of the cities’ people who live in the suburbs, especially in rustic areas where no pollution, whether environmental or even cultural. For example, if one goes to a well-known big city in Eygpt such as Cairo; this city is full of brands shopping’ stores and restaurants which undoubtedly do not refer to the real life of Eygpt at all. For this reason, rural cities are the places where one can study more about the country and the essence of the city’s culture, and the local industries, and further how their population look like.

In conclusion, major cities are an excellent destination for tourists to have fun, but in case one needs to discover the essence of any society should visit such small towns where can find the real life of the society.