“Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time.”

The more thing is from our comfort zone, the more it is acceptable. The prompt says that any truths start with refusing and it is treated as outrageous in particular that attacks the people beliefs or what they got familiar with. I totally agree, person always is more comfortable with the inherited ideas from past and accustomed to it in his daily life.

The main reason behind people refusing to any new truths is that they are acting out of fear of unknown or of what they are taught from their ancestors. For example, from several decades people believe that earth is straight and not rounded. However, when the truth of the earth is round declared, people didn’t easily accepted that idea. In that days, to come and say to one that earth is rounded, how can he imagine that there are some others in the other part of that sphere earth are upside down. However, by time passes and technology development, folk could see fact of earth is round and by such live movies from space agency (NASA) to the earth from space. Ultimately, this outrageous truth became accepted. This example indicates why any new idea even it is a truth faced by refusing.

Another example illustrates to what extent people will be suspicious towards any truth is out of their customaries. From 1400 years ago, people believe in that God is just the statue that they are created by themselves. These statues were being making from stones and even dates and when one feels hungry eats it although they were considered their God who pray and ask him for their needs. When prophet Mohammed came and asked them to submit to God who doesn’t have similar in the earth and he is only one, they didn’t accept that idea and didn’t leave what they bequeathed from their parents and inherited from their ancestors.

Further, when Galileo discovered that the earth moves around the sun and not visa versa, what did happen to him? The cleric men who believe in the opposite didn’t believe in him and accused him being heretic as he deviated from the religion. Because of his strange idea or deviated out of they were being taught in the churches, they sentenced him to life imprisonment. However, what is believed now regard the earth and sun? it completely became accepted. When the astronomers could proof with more advanced tools and technology; they led to no chance for doubts. All the above examples show that any truth out of our norms or what we are delivered from our ancestors, they are treated as deviation or heresy.

In conclusion, truth in some people’ eyes is what they used to deal with since they were born or what is they inherited from their past. Otherwise, they will don’t accept that truth easily to attacks their dogmas until these truths can proof themselves by evidence.