The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in

the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of

young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their

mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of

young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a

regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social

media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about

current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who

vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in

Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

The argument states comparison between two towns and how many numbers of people who participated in the election and based on his explanations on rife assumptions to explain why Chiswick town has a greater number in its denizens contribution. First of all, the argument should provide more explanation to be feasible to evaluate if the argument conclusion is valid or not.

To begin, the argument says that the number of people who participate in voting in Chiswick town is greater than Lamont city based on its explanation that the number of young people who are using the social media is bigger. However; the argument should not depend on such a trivial explanation because of the number only not give us a clear picture around who and how many contributed to that election. For example, even if the number of young people who are using social media is great; but, they maybe regular user for such renowned sites such as Facebook, Instagram and so forth. The example illustrates that people not necessary because of using the social that guarantee that they surely vote in the election. If the above is true, then, drawn conclusion in the original argument is considerably weakened.

Further, the argument states that those mentioned people in the survey who are using the social sites once a day and based on their point of view of themselves as they understand in politics; the argument deduces that those who voted in the election. However, that not a warranted conclusion because those people perhaps see that they politically informed but never participate in such events. The survey should provide clear questions about how many numbers how participate and why the reasons behind that for each one to see a complete picture, in this case, we only can evaluate the reason which may explain the significant difference between the two mentioned towns. Therefore, if the aforementioned scenario is valid, that means this argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed because of its reliance on unwarranted assumptions in its explanation around the enormous difference between the numbers of participation in both towns; thus, if the author can provide more explanations such as in the form of systematic research study, then it will be feasible to evaluate that argument effectively.