The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

In the letter from the local newspaper, it is stated that the author of the argument has an alternative solution to add bicycle lanes for mitigating the traffic jam instead of the proposed one by motorists, which is to make the highway wider. The author based on his proposed solution on two proves; the first, that when Green highway added a more lane, traffic jam had gotten worse than before. In addition, the residents of the surrounding areas are interested in riding bicycles. First of all, the author should provide more pieces of evidence for these two following concerns to evaluate if those recommendations will help in solving the problem or exacerbate it.

Firstly, the author depends on what had happened in the Green high- way would be the same for the blue highway. He assumes that two highways are the same, but they may be not similar at all. For example, Greenway could be located in an area closer to the city centre, so there is an overload in using this way as it services many crowded neighbourhoods around it. For this reason, the added lane didn’t have the desired effect in lessening the traffic. On the other hand, blue-way which perhaps exists in an area closer to a rustic territory where few populations, and thus few car users. [sr5] The example illustrates how the author’s evidence can be inaccurate. Moreover, the author states that issue happened last year, which is enough time for things to get change. For instance, in that mentioned time, probably that there were constructions in the other sub roads which service the same areas surround the Greenway. Thus, all motorists had to move to use this highway which was the only possible road for their work. What could probably don’t work for the Greenway not necessarily the same for the blue-way. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.[sr7]

Secondly, the argument assumes that many of the surrounded areas’ residents will be urged to use this bike lane as soon as it is constructed. this is unguaranteed assumption to take it into account as evidence, because of what used to be as a hobby, not necessarily used as a transport mean for the work or school. [sr8] For example, if one is keen on riding the bike and interested in using it as a hobby for morning exercise; this hobby maybe been found unfeasible transporting mean to commute to the work due to the distance, which is perhaps so long, and exhausting.[sr9] Moreover, even if this distance isn’t long as makes it difficult as I imagined; the residents themselves could have another crucial reason not to be encouraged, which is the risk to ride a bike on a highway. The highways are renowned by its remarkable speed which may constitute dangerous on the bike riders’ life. Therefore, even if some take that risk; the number of bike lane’s users will not be in the extent to which can solve the traffic jam Thus, If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed, because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions as evidence.[sr11] If the author is able to provide more evidence probably in the form of (systematic research study), then it will be plausible to evaluate the argument effectively whether to add a bike lane to the blue-highway or not.