The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument says that TV station has received complaints from viewers about their lacking of their covrage of weather and local news, and as a corrollary for this; they no longer watch this tv station. This argument is rife of holes and unwarranted assumptions. Firstly, the mangaer for this station should provide more evidence on his assumptions in returing more time for local news and weather to compensate losses of views.

First, the argument says that their station is showed in late night which could be the reasons for complaints' reviewrs, which perhaps from something else not the content itself. For example, if the time of showing this station doesn't fit all people as it such late time will be there no more people have more time to watch tv, of course, perhaps most people sleep in such late time for a hectic day will come tomorrow. Thus, if the above scenario is valid; then, the argument is considerably flawed.

Secondly, the argument should provide more inforamtion about the number of people who complaint; because of, perhaps this is a small sample of people whe are interested in such local news or weather and more than them don't, so to be feasible to evaluate this assumed evidence should do more accurate survey and increase the sample size of watching people for this station. If this situation is accurate; the drawn conclusion doesn't hold water.

Thirdly, those advertisments perhaps have another problem with the station rather than the content. For example, if they have a finanicial problem; and they see that station doesn't deserve to advertise their products through it. This action could be because of that station doesn't have enough reviewers that needed to achieve the desired sales that they want. Thus, this local advertisments will withdraw theri work for another station have the required percentage of reveiewers . Thus, if this prospect is correct; then, the original argument is considerably weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as stands now is considerably flawed as its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. The manager should provide a form of systematic study reaserch to be feasible to evaluate the argument effectively.