All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Surely, when any particular company gets help from any third person such as a consultant, it would be beneficial to increase the profitability of the company in many aspects.However, it always does not guarantee that it would be the best approach to solve any type of issues that exists in the company.Thereofore, I partially agree with the author's claim that if the companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultant would be unecessary.My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below mentioned examples.

Firstly, it is the responsibility of any firm to be aware of the various conditions that exists in the firm with respect to their employees such as their mental state, the number of working hours they have to stay in the office or some additional information about their overall efficiency in their work.If the company is aware of all of these problems then the management would able to cater these problems personally and hence considerably lead to an overall improvement of the company's work environment.For instance, consider any firm where the employees are showing resentment due to the exacting demands that they are recieving from the clients which is increasing their stress levels.In this case calling a consultant to solve their problems will be futile.The consultant may help in temporarily reducing their stress levels but, the problem still remains unsolved.Thus, it would have been more effective if the company's management would personally listen to all of their employee's problems and suggest ways to solve them.

However, in contrast to the above statement, sometimes the problems that the employees face are related to their declining mental health.Or maybe the overall efficiency of the employees is reduced because they have been showing less dedication towards their work.In this case a consultant might be able to exhort them to work harder than usual and can also increase their spirits and influence them to increase the company's profits.Since the problems are related to the mental health of the employees , the company itself won't be able to contribite much to increase the employee's effciency.They could probably undertake a new method to help improve the employee's dedication towards his work. For example, they could reward the employee who has worked most efficiently in a particular period of time and give hime the title such as 'Employee of the Year' .

To sum up, what approach the company undertakes depends totally upon the types of problems that the employees face.In most of the times, it would be more productive if the company itself listens to the employee's probelms, but it does not mean that a consultant in this case would be unecessary.When both of these approaches are combined it may prove to be the best techninque to solve the employee's difficulties and increase the overall profits of that company.