The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that by reducing the operating expenses of ten of their movie rental stores. they can stop the recent decline of their profits. Further, implementing the same strategy as that of the store in downtown Marston can ensure an increase in profits, without jeopardizing their reputation for offering great movies at low prices. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion relies on certain doubtful assumptions that do not lend credible support for the argument. Hence, the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author does not provide sufficient information about the number of stores present in their chain of movie stores. The author assumes that reduces the operating expenses at only 10 movie-rental stores can stop the declining profits. Perhaps, all of their stores require reducing operating costs to ensure effective results. If they choose to reduce the expenses of the stores that contribute more in bringing profits to the company then that will exacerbate the existing situation. To strengthen the argument the author should have provided additional information about the number of stores that they own as well as what type of stores are selected for reducing the operating expenses.

In addition to this, the author assumes that making the condition and circumstances of all the stores as similar to that of the store in downtown Marston. Therefore, he believes that making similar changes in all the stores can ensure an increase in the overall profits. Perhaps in downtown Marston, people have healthy habits of sleeping early in the night and therefore prefer to visit any store in the morning or afternoon. Therefore, it would be prudent for the store to close by 6 p.m instead of 9 p.m as the number of customers visiting the store after 6 p.m would be very less. But the similar conditions cannot be applied to all other stores because, in some stores, the people would prefer visiting the stores at night after they have completed with their job-related activities in the day. Thus closing the shop early, could result in a decline in profits and thus the purpose of the argument would be undermined.

Finally, the author assumes that discarding all movies that are release five years ago could reduce the operating expenses and increase profits. However, perhaps customers of the majority of the stores, like to watch old movies and find the latest movies, dull. In this case, discarding all the movies that were released five years ago could worsen the situation and lead to more decline in profits. To prove the validity of the argument, the author should provide additional information about the likings of the customers that are visiting their stores.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument, the author should provide additional information such as the number of stores they own, or the type of customers that are visiting their stores as well as their likings. But, in the absence of this data, the argument relies on some doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.