Directions: Read the question below. Give yourself 30 minutes to plan, write, and revise your

essay. Typically, an effective response will contain a minimum of 300 words.

Reading Time: 30 minutes

Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children

(aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television advertising has become important aspect of marketing for all of the companies. Regardless of products that companies sell, marketing of these products can be done effectively through television advertising. In my opinion, such kind of advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed due to following two reasons.

First of all, children of such tender age don’t have much understanding of the world. They easily believe what they see and such kind of impression is imprinted on their mind. Even though, children of this age are the major consumer base for few products but ultimately their parents are the ones who will be making the purchase and not the children themselves. Children in such age may see something shown in the television advertisement and may pursue their parents of buying such products in the hope that whatever fantasy world shown in the advertisement may come true with them also. However, a decision for purchase shall be based on the requirement and other important aspects of the product and not on the promise of some dream, fantasy world coming true.

Secondly, in case if parents of children buy the product and it does not perform as per satisfaction of the child or it does not turn like the fantasy world shown in the advertisement, then children are likely to develop problems of trust issues. They will be skeptical about all the things that they see and it will be difficult for them to look at the world as a safe and nurturing space in opposition to the evil,lying world that they see. Such trauma developed in early stage may cause problems in their adult life as well.

Therefore, I think that such advertisement directed towards the younger audience shall not be allowed since it takes away right of the parents to make a well thought purchase for their children and disappointment resulting from not fulfillment of lies of the advertisement may adversely affect their children’s mental health.