Directions: Read the question below. Give yourself 30 minutes to plan, write, and revise your essay. Typically, an effective response will contain a minimum of 300 words.

Reading Time: 30 minutes

Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is important that the teachers must have deep knowledge of the subject they taught. However, it is more important for a teacher to relate the subject being taught well with students for the following three reasons.

First of all, if the subject being taught is related well with students then they understand concepts better. Understanding concept must be given prime importance as concepts sets up basis of students, which eventually help them in future to grasp the subject easily. For instance, consider the example of newton’s laws of motion. If teacher is unable to relate newton’s law then most likely they will face difficulty in studying physics. Hence, it is beneficial for students if teacher can teach them while relating well.

Secondly, this ability of teacher to relate well can make students more interested towards the subject being taught. Subsequently, the students will take study with more enthusiasm and hence, grasp the content efficiently. For example, in a physics class if the teacher is able to explain with experiments or real-life scenarios, they will get more eager to learn the subject. Thus, once interest comes, the knowledge comes naturally, as now the students will read on their own and will cover more deeper aspects of the subject.

Finally, if teacher is able to teach well while relating things, then the boring subject could look easier and interesting. For instance, I considered chemistry as a way too boring subject as I can’t remember the reaction equations and element names. However, in 12th standard a new teacher came and has completely my perspective of chemistry. He made chemistry to look too easy for me. This is only possible because of his peculiar ability of relating chemistry with the common names of people, places, etc.

In conclusion, while it is necessary to have enough knowledge of subject to taught students, but at the same time it is more important to relate things well such that the students find is easier and interesting to learn.