Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether governments should restrict scientific research and development. Indisputably, scientific research has made people's lives easier and facilitated medical research. Nevertheless, several applications of scientific research, such as animal cloning and nuclear power plants have adverse impacts on society. Therefore, I would mostly agree with the topic that the government should place few restrictions.

First of all, the authority should ban animal cloning, though it will lead to reducing several maladies, including cancer cells, tumor cells, and so on. Because it has negative consequences on human lives. For example, anyone (who has adequate money) would be able to clone someone else; as a result, criminal activities will be increased. The cloned person will easily pretend to be someone else and take advantage of this. Thus, it is pretty obvious that it behooves the government to put restrictions on this kind of research.

Furthermore, scientists are experimenting with several nuclear power plants to ensure a better life for human beings. Consequently, people and industries will get continuous power and economics will be augmented. However, it can be used in the field of war. For instance, in World War II, America utilized nuclear bombs on Japan and we all know the repercussions. If such projects are still running, the authority should ensure that these ideas cannot be used by miscreants. So, the evidence demonstrates that the government should inhibit such research experiments.

Admittedly, scientific research has a number of boons in different fields, including medical science and aerospace research. To illustrate, scientists are researching to find a solution for dealing with cancer. In this kind of research that has benefits, the government should not impose prohibitions. What is more, due to aerospace research, we will be able to know the origin of the earth and human as well. It will also help us to predict the imminent weather.

In conclusion, although scientific research and development have advantages on people's lives, the government should place few restrictions on research which can be precarious for human beings and other animals as well.