A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program.The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is based on assumptions which may or may not be true. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author of the argument assumes that all pet owners will have longer and healthier lives than do people who have no pets based on recent study. The author does not state who has done the recent study. Is the recent study done by reputed organization? The author does not study if the recent study is larger enough and representative of general population. The recent study reported that dog owners have lower incidence of heart disease. But, we cannot conclude that the dog owners will live healthier and will have no heart disease in the future. If the recent study is not done properly taking all factors into consideration, then it undermines the validity of the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that if Sherwood hospital forms a partnership with sherwood animal shelter for adopt-a-dog program, then it would encourage dog ownership which in turns lead to less chance of experiencing heart problems. The author assumes that by adopting dogs , the patients recovering for heart disease will reduce their need for ongoing treatment. But, there is no evidence for this. It does not state how will adopting a dog reduce their need for ongoing treatment. If this assumption is not true, then it weakens the argument.

Thirdly, it assumes that adopt-a-dog program would encourage more people to adopt dogs from shelter which in turn leads to reduction in the heart disease incidence in the general population. Will more people adopt dogs as adopt-a-dog program is encouraging it? Even if more people adopt it, it cannot be sure that these people constitute to most of the general population.

The argument is based on assumptions which are not logically sound enough to support it. If the assumptions are not valid, then the argument falls apart. There are no specific evidences to support the argument. The assumptions are made based on unknown recent study. Thus, the findings from the recent study cannot support the argument.