The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It might seem logical, at a first glance, that the argument makes a cogent case regarding the prevention of environmental diaster: disaster can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abondons its mining plans. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions. If these assumptions prove to be invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, author assumes that the land purchased by CCC in the tropical nation of West Fredonia will used for mining copper. If the CCC purchased that land for different purpose other than mining, then it weakens the argument. If the CCC uses only small part of the land for mining copper and rest of the land for different purposes, then it weakens the argument. The author has to show proper evidence that most of the land will be definitely used for mining in order to strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author of the argument assumes that the CCC will make its copper products by using copper obtained by mining the land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. If the CCC make its products by making use of copper mined from places other than the tropical nation of West Fredonia, then it weakens the argument. The author must provide evidence that CCC will make all or most of the copper products using the copper copper obtained by mining the land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia.

Thirdly, the author of the argument assumes that the CCC will not take any measures to control pollution and it will not take care of endangered animal species in West Fredonia if it plans to use the land in the West Fredonia for mining copper. If the CCC shifts the endangered animal species to a safe and secured place and take effective measures to control the pollution, then it can prevent environmental disaster and pollution. If the above the statement is true, then it weakens the argument. The author must provide evidence that CCC will use the land in West Fredonia for mining and it will not take into account the pollution and environmental disaster which can be caused by mining copper on that land.

The author of the argument makes above unwarranted assumptions. If these assumptions render to be invalid, then the argument falls apart. The author must provide some concrete evidence to support those assumptions in order to provide support to the argument.