"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument recommends reducing the funds budgeted for education, athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities during next decade by stating declining birth rate in the city the reason. The argument does not state proper evidence to support the recommendation. There must be specific evidence to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, there should be an evidence that the students enrolled in their public schools are only from their city. In that case, this evidence can strengthen the argument as number of students enrolled will be decreased when birthrate is declining in their city. But, if the public schools also allow students from other cities for enrollment in the public schools, then the number of students enrolled in the public schools will not decrease drastically despite declining birthrates in the city.

Secondly, there should be an evidence that athletic playing fields only allow students enrolled in public schools and other recreational facilities are only used by students enrolled in the public schools. In that case, this evidence provide support for the recommendation. If students from other cities also play in the athletic playing fields or make use of other recreational facilities, then funding needs to be increased or should remain constant. If adults of the city also make use of other recreational facilities like parks, then they may feel dissatisfied when funding are reduced for recreational facilities.

The author does not state specific evidence to evaluate the argument. The above specific evidences can be used to strengthen or undermine the argument. The above specific evidences helps in deciding whether the argument is reasonable.