Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Clothing has always been considered as one of the basic human needs like food and shelter. Human beings developed a sense of modesty even before they knew how to light fire and hence felt the need to cover their privates with clothes. However, in our modern society, clothes have become so much more important than just maintaining modesty. In fact, people buy unnecessarily expensive clothes just to raise their social status by improving their appearance. I wholeheartedly agree with the given statement for a variety of compelling reasons. Some of the most pivotal ones are explained in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, people seem to have forgotten that appearance can be deceiving. They have started judging people only by their looks and clothes. This standpoint of mine has been profoundly fostered by my own personal experiences. I can never forget the first time when I was invited to a function in my school's reunion program to speak as an honorable guest. When I was just about to enter my school building, I was stopped by a security guard who asked me where I was going. I replied that I am attending the reunion program as a guest speaker. However, unlike the other guests, I was not wearing an expensive suit. Hence, the guard thought I was lying and wanted to verify it. After almost 20 minutes of hassle, I was allowed to enter. Had I been wearing expensive formal clothes, this incident certainly would not have taken place. Ever since then, I have always spent a great deal on buying expensive clothes so that such incidents do not repeat.

On top of that, the recent boom of large shopping malls with huge clothing stores are testament to the fact that people spend way too much on clothes. Clothing brands have become giant multi-billion dollar companies due to this spending spree. If we look at the growth of these brands, we can easily notice the pattern. These giant brands were not always the household names they are now. It's only the last two or three decades that have sky-rocketed the demand of high-end clothes and accessories. All of this is just so that people can improve their appearance and raise their social status.

To make a long story short, I absolutely agree with the given statement and I do think that people now-a-days spend way too much on clothing to improve their appearance.