Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

I totally agree with the statement that people now-a-days spend too much money on clothing. They do that because they want to improve their appearance. This can be explained only on the basis of what exactly are the reasons because of which people spend too money to buy clothes. I feel this way mainly because of the reasons that are mentioned below.

First of all, people think that their physical appearance is more important than their character, personality and their mental state. They are always influenced by the people around them. On the present day, social media has played a major role in making people think this way. People often think that they are being judged based on their looks not only in real life, but also on the internet. It is true that being properly dressed suitable to appropriate occasions is important and most of the times, one's appearance is judged on basis of that, but it is not at all necessary to hoard on clothes by making expensive purchases just because of people's judgements. My personal experience is a great example of this, one of my friends who is a social media addict bought a bunch of expensive dresses just because she was influenced by the trend. She bought it even though she knew that it wasn't right for her personality. Later, she contacted me for extra money to pay her rent. So, it is evident that people are being frivilous and spending loads of money on clothes, when they can plan a budget and utilize their hard earned money properly.

Secondly, most the people judge others based on the outfits that others wear. This forces people to buy good and expensive clothes so that they are not being judged. They feel that expensive clothes or wearing different clothes everyday will make them feel as they are a part of some elevated society. On the other hand, this is not always true. Drawing from my own experience, once in my high school, I was asked if I worked in a hospital as I always wore a gown, which resembled a nurse's gown in the hospital. I felt really embarassed by the situation and went on to buy a whole new closet with loads of clothes, so that I could wear a different dress everyday. After a few days, I scored low in my exams because I was too busy dressing myself with new dresses. I was exhausted by the fact that I have to wear a new look everyday, as people perceived me to dress well.

In conclusion, I would say that people spend too money on their clothing because they want to improve their appearance. As they give much more importance to their physical apperance than their mental being and state. It is better to make people understand that it is not by the looks that one should judge themselves and others. It is by the amount of knowledge they garnered, their skills and talents. Not only that, one's mental state on an everyday basis should be checked upon to know their mood, not the dress they wear that day.