Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Controversies are often created when two parties who have extremely different views or perspectives on a particular topic. It is beneficial to discuss controversial topics with people who have contrasting views. In any situation where people have different opinions on something, there is always a right side and a wrong side. For any controversy to lead to a conclusion, one should be picking the right side, and the right side can be determined only by discussing a controversial topic, with contrasting views and considering both sides of the stories.

Whenever there is a controversy established under the influence of a public figure and it is against the public's views, then it is often known by the history of controversies that people always misunderstand the views of a public figure or a celebrity. During these times, miscommunication plays a major role in the birth of a controversy. If the consequences of a controversy are harmful to the society in any way, it is always better to clear all the misconceptions and draw to a conclusion which is positive to every party, in this case the celebrity and the audience.

Usually, there are always instances of controversies between a government and it's people. As the influential stake is high in this case, there is always a gap of communication between the government and people, though there is technology like social media, with which a controversy can spread like a wild fire. In this case, both the parties stories are to be heard and a best conclusion must be drawn, which can be in favour of the government and the people. For instance, in the year 2019, a huge controversy was raised among the people of the United States regarding the apparent counterfeit voter machines during the elections. This was between Donald Trump and his followers versus the voters. In this scenario, all the people and officials of America came together with evidence of truth.

It is evident that miscommunication, misconceptions or false accusations on people often lead to controversies. So, the best one can do in these circumstances is to discuss their contrasting views and build a gap between, so that there is no place to controversies. Even though it is true that a very few people change their minds when questioned about their core beliefs, it is always suggested to discuss controversial topics with contrasting views on a topic because then each party will get to hear the pros, cons, reasons and compulsions they had to consider that made them on that side of the party.