Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is a general belief that, a persons should be known from their work and should be good from their heart but not from their outer appearances. Whereas, some people might like to be extravagant on their clothing to improve their appearances, while other prefer to be simple in their appearances. Personally, I agree to the prompt that nowadays people are spending too much of money on clothing to improve their appearances. I feel this way for two reasons which i will examine in this essay.

First of all, at present time people have become quite materialistic than the past. Flexing the high branded things such as clothes, gadgets have become fashion for the todays youth. Obviously, if today a person donot have such expensive materials than they would be outcircle from their freinds and co- workers. And further they would have to experience bullying in their workplace. For example , When i used to work in a esteem company as an data scientist. In the workplace i used to be in the normal dress, i used to carry the outdated phone and i was not familiar with the so called fashion of my colleagues. So, due to me being outmoded , ther e were no one in the office who used to hang with me. So, inferiority complex also made me to follow the fashion and to buy expensive thing i while i used to work in office. Hence, Not having fashionable dress not only make me alone in office , it also make me feel myself inferior.

Secondly, Social media have now become part of our daily life. Each and every person in the world have their account in one the social media platform. However, the social media especially after covid has become the site to show the body and to trend and become viral in such social media has become dream of todays teens. These dreams of people to get trend on social media has make them to spend too much money in their appearances. As it is true that to look good and sophisticated on social media people need expensive and branded clothes , which are making people spend too much money. This is best demonstrated by one of my personal experience. When i used to live in the kathmandu city for my job. There used to be a young girl near my house. Who was not so rich and used to stay in a small hut. But once when i was in a mall for shopping i saw her buying the clothes from the branded shop. When i return to home i saw her making video on the same dress and posting o the social media. So, despite her economical situation she was flexing her clothes on social media and spending so much on it.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that nowadays people spend too much money for appearances. This is because of the inferiority complex and the social media trends