The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an

anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the

island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that

children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews

with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia

show that these children spend much more time talking about

their biological parents than about other adults in the village.

This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as

well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more

accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in

other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is

needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence

would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In article of the renowned anthropologist Dr. Karp, it is stated that, the conclusion made by the study of Dr. field on island of tertia, based on the observation approach he concluded that children in tertia were reared by entire village than by their biological parents, is invalid and Dr. Karp suggest that his approach of interviewed centered is far better than Dr. field conclusion. Dr, Karp had come to this conclusion based on the interview which he had carried out in Tertia where the children were mainly talking about their biological parents than the other adults in village. Before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

Firstly, Are the children properly aged to give the interview to the Dr karp? Does the interview given by the young age child be appropriate to come to this conclusion? Perhaps the children that the Dr. Karp interviewed can be of the small age _ as like of 5 years- than such children may not make difference about the role of their biological parents and their rearing parents about who are looking after their expenses and basic needs. May the children may be of small age and have given the interview without proper thinking and may have told about their biological parents as per fear to talk to the stranger who had came to take their interviews. Such fear on children is very common, So, if either of this scenario is true, than conclusion made by Mr. Karp is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, Does the views of some children in tertia and the conclusion based on that view be comparable and applicable to other society and culture? Perhaps the view obtained in the interview of the tertia may not be comparable to the view obtained in other culture and in other society. As the interviewing person can be of different maturity and different age due to which the response can also be different. So, based on the interview only to come to the conclusion in the prompt could be completely baseless.

Similarly, does the children chosen were completely impartial in their views or may not they be taught by some evil person to tell likewise inorder to invalidate the conclusion of the Dr. field? Perhaps the children who had given interview might have been taught by the foe of Dr field to tell like wise and report have been fabricated by the Dr. karp as per to invalidate the conclusion of the Dr. field. If this is true conclusion made is completely baseless.

In coming to conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is completely flawed due to its reliance on the baseless assumption. If author is able to answer three questions above and would provide more evidence. Than only the above prompt can be fully recommended and conclusion can be considered.