Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

**Writing by hand with a pencil or pen is a waste of time. Children should only be taught to type on a keyboard.**

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

For centuries, even millennia, the act of writing has most been performed by hand. Up until a few decades ago, nobody could think of any other means of getting it done other by hand, only the equipment to be used was a matter of choice, such as - a pencil or a pen. However, with the advent of technology and its incorporation into every aspect of our modern lives, many more ways of writing have become available to people, most importantly - keyboards. I agree with the statement given in the prompt that children should be taught writing by only typing on the keyboard for three reasons.

Firstly, with the cost of technology drastically coming down, computers and similar gadgets has become increasingly popular and common in households, which indicates that children today have much access to a keyboard to type in. In addition to that, using a keyboard is very easy and requires much lesser maintenance, unlike pens and pencils which need to be refilled or bought after some days of usage. For example, market study shows that an average priced computer keyboard, which lasts for at least two years without showing any signs of problems, is significantly cheaper than using pens or pencils for the same duration of time. This can be beneficial for people living in the third world countries, where it is not at all sustainable for children to buy stationary for extended periods of time, but a one-time investment can ensure they can study and write with the one keyboard they have.

Secondly, it is much easier, comfortable, and more efficient to write in a keyboard that to write by hand. Writing in a keyboard everyday increases the typing speed of the person drastically. Consequently, one can write a lot more than he or she could ever write by hand. For example, modern day writers, may it be academic or literary, mostly use keyboards to write their papers, novels or anything. Study has shown that there is a ten-fold increase in the volubility of writers who use keyboards, than to writer who prefer by hand. In this era, where volubility is a precious quality to have, keyboard definitely serves the children better in enhancing their writing.

Thirdly, one of the most powerful features of using a keyboard is that the writing can be edited on the go. Children, who have just started to learn to write, will definitely make a lot of mistakes. It is so much easier for children to edit their writing if they make any mistake if they are using a keyboard for writing, than to use a pencil where you need to have a eraser to clear any mistakes, or than a pen where they do not have any way to correct the mistakes without making some ugly strikes here and there. Moreover, if a child is writing by hand, there is no easy way to insert another line, let alone a paragraph, in the middle of the writing, whereas writing with a keyboard makes the task a piece of cake.

In conclusion, the question if children should be taught to write by hand is a very complex one. Some would argue that writing by hand adds a more personal touch from the writer's perspective. However, taking into account the ease, comfort and efficiency writing by typing bring, it is much more beneficial to teach children to type on a keyboard to write.