Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Writing by hand with a pencil or pen is a waste of time Children should only be taught to type on a keyboard Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do no

These days, using keyboards to write is becoming more common, and some people have started to suggest that teaching children to write with a pencil or pen is a waste of time. I completely disagree with this opinion.

First, writing with a pencil or pen is far simpler than writing on a keyboard. A pencil is a very simple tool, and a pen is only a bit more complicated. Even a basic keyboard is far more complex than either of these tools. A keyboard contains both mechanical parts to help move the keys and electrical components that transmit information to the computer. The only thing needed to use a pencil or pen is the writer's hand. And a pencil or pen is usable with only one hand, while a keyboard requires two hands to use. This means that writing with a pencil or pen is more accessible to children, and that writing this way can be learned more quickly by all people.

Second, a pencil or pen is more portable than a keyboard. Writers can carry them easily along with a small notebook and be able to write almost anywhere. A pencil or pen is easy to fit behind the ear or inside a book. A large pencil or pen is still smaller than the smallest portable keyboard and easier to carry around. A keyboard also weighs more and is more tiring to carry around than a pencil or pen is, even without a computer or monitor to use with it. So a pencil or pen is better for a child to carry around. Writing with a pencil or pen is not a waste of time because the portability of the needed equipment will often make writing by hand more valuable than knowing how to type.

In conclusion, I believe that writing with a pencil or pen is a useful skill and that children should not only be taught to type on a keyboard. I think this is the case because pencils and pens are simpler to use and more portable than a keyboard.