The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Humana University claimed that they should begin promoting online degree programs to increase enrollment and solving financial issues. In evidence they have provided results online programs of Omni University that has solved

the enrollment and budget issues with their university. While the author's contention can be true; his or her argument of initiating online degree program at Humana University as Omni as it stands now, rests on three unfounded assumptions that weakens argument's persuasiveness.

Firstly, the author assumes that number of students enrolled in online program and offline program of both university is analogous and comparable. It may be possible that Omni university has a lower number of students in online program and their showed percentage (50%) is actually reflecting a very trivial number of students compared to the number of offline based programs. It may be another case that Humana University has a higher number of students than Omni university. That's why the number of enrolling in previous years are decreasing but overall it has higher percentage of students enrolled in their offline program. Therefore, the author should assess the number of students rather than the percentage for comparing these college activities to strengthen his or her argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that trend that is going on both Omni university and Humana University from the last few years are going to continue in the upcoming years. There can be other factors for increased online enrollment on last year in Omni University. What if the students who are enrolled are from another countries which are currently having some visa issues, for that reason they can not join the offline program , that's why they are enrolling online degree programs. Besides, it can be another case that, online degree programs are kind of temporary for last year for some issues on that area and then it will be start from the next year in offline. Therefore, the author can not just imitate online program of Omni University in Humana University without knowing the real scenario.

Thirdly, the author assuming that online programs can solve the problem of enrollment and budget issues. It may be a case that students are even discouraged and not willing to enroll in a university which are more based on online platform. That will eventually hamper the financial cost more drastically. Because the lower number of enrollment will provide less cost for maintaining the total institution. Moreover, it may be another case that online platform needs more expenditures like graphics tablet for every teacher and subscription cost etc. Therefore, without assessing the total cost for both approach, the author's argument does not hold water.

So to conclude, the author's arguments are rising a lot of questions and eventually without assessing all these previous unstated assumptions properly, the author should not go for further implementation of his argument.