The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president and Administrative staff of Grove College made a claim for keeping their college a "female College". For evidence, they have provided the result of a survey where a major number of students and over half of the alumnae voted for only female education though the majority vote for teachers was for "Co-education". While Author's contention may be true that they should continue the old tradition of being a female college for improvement of morale and for financial support from alumnae; his or her argument as it stands now, rests on three unstated assumptions that weaken the arguments persuasiveness.

Firstly, the author assumes that over half of alumnae who voted for " female education" provide financial support for the college. It may be a case that alumni who are actually providing donations for the college are more enthusiastic about "co-education". So they can be discouraged to provide support if it is being continued as a female college. Besides, there is another possibility that the dependency on alumnae for financial issues will be mitigated due to the increased number of both male and female students.

Secondly , the author assumes that students who are voting for the female students are the major concern whereas the author is ignoring the results of the teachers survey. It can be a case that, teachers are more willing to bring some positive improvement in the college environment and therefore voting for the co-education on the other hand students are not really caring the matter of college betterment or the financial issue.Besides, there may be another possibility that teachers are concern about college financial crisis which is not known to the college students and the financial support from alumnae are not adequate therefore they are more willing to encourage men students for more supports.

Thirdly, the author assumes that improving the morale of students is dependent on gender. It may be a case that when students both male and female are working together and learning together, they can be taught the best moral support like how to respect the opposite gender which is not possible in only female colleges. Therefore the reasoning behind the female college may not be correct that only female college serves the best morale training rather than co-education.

So to conclude as the author’s argument and supporting evidence of keeping the school solely for female rise a lot of questions. Therefore if these questions are not properly addressed, the recommendation can not be taken for further steps for implementation.