Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Group work is important in every aspects of life and its practice should be from the beginning of life. For learning, collaborating with peers, students are assigned with different assessment process in like group assignments. Here, the claim states that for making a student group oriented, a substantial amount of traditional lecture based instruction should be replaced whereas group assignment based projects should be imposed where they can work with peers and can achieve a common goal. I mostly agree with the claim for two reasons.

Group Assignments need general skill for problem solving and which actually needs the topic to learn more vigorously. For example, if a student is assigned with homework to work on some history places and background history, they will work the project more enthusiastically rather than when a teacher just give lectures on that history. It can be clearly seen that, when a group of student is working with a problem, they have to go inside the problem, make it small division of works, and also to distribute among peers and they have to work on the project separately, but to make the project successful and they have to coalesce in some points which will eventually provide a better learning than tradition lecture based study. On the contrary, a traditional continuous lecture may seem very tedious for most of the students, and they will loose their interest.

In addition, A group work experience are much needed for future life and job life. For instance, a student after completing his graduation, when he will go to the job market, he will find that there are diverse people working together like an industry contains engineers, labors, administrative persons, HR and etc. He have to deal with all of them for the sake of company's success. Therefore, it is essential learning for a student to work with a group where they can encounter a different types students and can learn from their work. Because, a person in a group may have a good problem solving strategy, and another have artistic view point , which will help a student to grow knowledge with diverse people and bring out the best result.

It is often true that, sometimes in a group , only some of the students contribute and others just chill around. Like for a group of 5 people in a project, there are only two , who are working on. which actually exacerbate the results of group work.

In conclusion, group work can make a students learning more in a practical way with more enthusiasm if the contribution of every group members are mostly equal.