Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

An impactful critical judgement in any field requires a sharp analysis and background knowledge. Without knowledge, most of the judgement are kind of futile. Therefore, I mostly agree with the claim that critical judgment without an expert of any given field produces a trivial effect for following two reasons.

Firstly, producing judgements and analysis without significant knowledge in one field are not only produces a little value but also they are mostly harmful. For instance, some drug like hydroquinone is considered and used as a the cosmetics ingredient by beauty industry that reduces the blemish and make a person fair But they are not aware of the other issues can be produced by hydroquinone like in usage for longer period it can even cause skin cancer. But the drug analysist or chemist actually knew the effect of product. So often a little knowledge can lead to result that can seems like effective to some extent but a critical judgement which actually meticulously produces all the effects of the result can be done by a skillful person.

Secondly, an expert's analysis are deeper, pedantic and broader as well as highly effective. For example, Alberts Einstein's theory of relativity is much effectual and that can not be even imagined by a non-expert person. Therefore, if we look at all innovations of todays world, we can see that all the innovations are done by the scientists are recognized after a life long research on specific field. Therefore, just throwing one comment or analysis without knowing the issue can not persuade others to believe the judgment. Besides, if a person who is engineer in profession but works as a lawyer for one court, can he or she express a good judgement over the case? The answer is absolutely no. Therefore knowledge on that fields makes a person more skillful to judge the matter more critically.

However, It may be true that in some cases people just ignore analysis of a outside person of that field. For example, if a historians can give a nice review and judgement on analysis of the society according to his knowledge from his field. In that cases, when the fields are kind of related, some knowledges are often useful to produce a impact judgment on some issue.

So to conclude, critical judgment can be produced from a person who has enough background knowledge to judge the issue properly and little knowledge often bring less impactful works.